Theft – Arizona Criminal Defense Attorney
Charged With A Theft Crime?
Theft in Arizona is more than just a single offense encompassing all theft crimes. The different offenses, the evidence needed to prove a case against you, and the consequences associated with each charge, make it difficult to understand the complexity of each case. It is vital that you hire an attorney who understands theft cases, and has experience defending clients charged with different theft crimes.
Theft Charges in Arizona
A.R.S. § 13-1802 states that a person commits theft if she/he knowingly and without lawful authority does any of the following:
- Controls someone else’s property with intent to deprive.
- Converts someone else’s property for an unauthorized term while the owner gave the property to the individual temporarily.
- Obtains someone else’s property by means of material misrepresentation.
- Controls lost or misdelivered property without taking reasonable efforts to contact the true owner.
- Controls another’s property while knowing someone else stole it.
- Obtains services the defendant knows are only available for compensation without paying.
- Controls the ferrous or nonferrous metal of someone else with intent to deprive.
- Purchases the ferrous or nonferrous metal of another knowing someone else stole the metal.
If someone controls, uses, manages, or titles the property of a vulnerable adult while in a position of trust and confidence with the intent to deprive the true owner of the property. A “vulnerable adult” can refer to anyone 18 years or older who cannot protect him/herself from neglect, abuse, or exploitation due to a physical or mental impairment. Breaking the state’s theft laws could result in serious penalties. have a Scottsdale theft lawyer help you understand the laws of Arizona.
What are Some Possible Punishments for Theft Charges in Arizona?
The punishment for theft will depend upon the class of the alleged offense. Arizona classifies theft categories based on the value of the stolen property, goods, or services. The classes are as follows:
Petty theft. Petty theft describes the theft of property valued at $1,000 or less. It is a misdemeanor crime punishable by up to six months in jail.
Class 6 felony. Felony theft of property valued at $1,000 to $2,000 is a Class 6 felony punishable by a minimum of four months to a maximum of two years in prison.
Class 5 felony. Items $2,000 to $3,000 equal a Class 5 felony, punishable by six months to 2.5 years in prison.
Class 4 felony. Stealing property valued from $3,000 to $4,000 is a Class 4 felony, with penalties of at least one year to a maximum of 3.75 years in prison.
Class 3 felony. Any property valued from $4,000 to $25,000 will result in a Class 3 felony charge, with possible penalties of two to 8.75 years in prison.
Class 2 Felony. Theft of goods worth more than $25,000. Conviction comes with a minimum of three years and a maximum of 12.5 years in prison.
If you would like to aggressively fight against theft accusations and charges, contact the Litwak Law Group to set up a free consultation. It is best to start working on a defense and explore constitutional violations as early as possible.
Theft Defense Lawyer Serving Phoenix And Throughout Arizona
If you are facing theft charges, contact the Litwak Law Group now to schedule a free consultation.
Get in Touch
Get in Touch