Assault Attorney In Phoenix, AZ
Assault – Arizona Criminal Defense Attorney
Protect Your Rights
Often times, assault charges can be based on the police having only heard one side of the story. As a result, you can be left facing wrongful charges. Because assault is such a serious crime, this can become a major issue. Being proactive and building a strong defense is paramount.
What Counts as Assault in Arizona?
A.R.S. § 13-1203 defines assault as the following:
Class 1 misdemeanor: Intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causing another person physical injury.
Class 2 misdemeanor: Intentionally placing someone else in reasonable apprehension of imminent physical injury.
Class 3 misdemeanor: Knowingly touching a person with the intent to provoke, insult, or injure the person.
Section 13-1204 defines aggravated assault or battery as committing assault in one or more of the following circumstances:
- Causing serious physical injury to another person.
- Using a deadly weapon, dangerous instrument, or simulated deadly weapon.
- Committing assault in a way that causes temporary but serious disfigurement, impairment, or fracture of any body part.
- Committing assault while the victim is physically restrained.
- After entering the victim’s home with the intent to commit assault.
- Violating a protective order.
- Knowing that the victim is a peace officer, constable, firefighter, paramedic, teacher, healthcare practitioner, prosecutor, enforcement officer, park ranger, public defender, or judicial officer.
- While the defendant is in prison and commits assault against an official employee.
- Someone over the age of 18 assaulting someone 14 years old or younger To learn more about this, speak to a Scottsdale child abuse lawyer.
- Intentionally impeding the breathing or blood flow by applying pressure to the throat or neck, or by obstructing the nose or mouth.
- Aggravated assault may be Class 2, 3, 4, 5, or 6 felonies depending on the circumstances. Penalties for committing assault in Arizona can range from 30 days in jail and fines of up to $500 to up to 15 years in prison.
Conviction of two simple assault charges within two years will lead to more severe penalties. Intimidation, endangerment, threats, or assaults against public safety officers may come with additional charges and consequences.
There are two sides to every story. You need to hire an aggressive defense attorney to tell your side of the story and fight to level the playing field at trial. If you are accused of assault you have a 5th amendment right not to talk about what happened. Mr. Litwak has obtained many dismissals and not guilty verdicts in assault cases ranging from simple assault to aggravated assault dangerous, where someone was severely injured or a weapon was used. Contact the Litwak Law Group to speak directly with an attorney, not a paralegal or office administrator, to discuss your defense.
Assault Defense Lawyer Serving Phoenix And Throughout Arizona
If you are facing assault charges, contact the Litwak Law Group now to schedule a free consultation.