d
Follow us
  >  Uncategorized   >  Consequences of DUI in Arizona
alcohol auto automotive beer

Consequences of DUI in Arizona

Consequences of DUI in Arizona

Arizona has some of the harshest penalties for DUI charges in the country. If you are arrested for Dui you need to understand what the potential penalties are.  The consequences may vary, depending on whether or not this is your first offense, who else was in the vehicle with you, and what your BAC level was.

Types of DUI in Arizona

A standard DUI is when a person drove a vehicle while their blood alcohol content (BAC) was 0.08% or more, 0.04% or more if the driver was in a commercial vehicle, or any percentage if the driver was under 21 years of age. It is classified as a Class 1 misdemeanor under Arizona law.

DUI is classified as “extreme” if the driver’s BAC was 0.15% or higher. It is also considered a Class 1 misdemeanor for a first offense.

If a driver commits a DUI with a suspended, revoked, or cancelled driver’s license, it is classified as an aggravated DUI. It is also considered aggravated DUI if it is the driver’s 3rd offense within 84 months, or the driver was transporting a passenger under 15 years of age. If the driver had a child in the vehicle, the DUI is considered a Class 6 felony, but any other aggravated DUI is treated as a Class 4 felony.

The following are possible penalties you may face if convicted of a DUI in Arizona:

1st Offense Standard DUI:

A minimum of 10 days, but up to 6 months in jail

A fine of at least $1,480

Driver’s license suspension for a minimum of 90 days

Ignition Interlock Device installed in vehicle

Community service

Completion of an alcohol or drug screening, treatment and education program

2nd or Subsequent Offenses Standard DUI:

A minimum of 90 days, but up to 6 months in jail

A fine of at least $3,425

Driver’s license will be revoked for 1 year

Ignition Interlock Device installed in vehicle

Community service

Completion of an alcohol or drug screening, treatment and education program

1st Offense Extreme DUI

A minimum of 30 days, but up to 6 months in jail

A minimum fine of $2,730

Driver’s license will be suspended for a minimum of 90 days

Ignition Interlock Device installed in vehicle

Community service

Completion of an alcohol or drug screening, treatment and education program

2nd or Subsequent Offenses Extreme DUI

A minimum of 120 days, but up to 6 months in jail

A minimum fine of $3,675

Driver’s license will be revoked for 1 year

Ignition Interlock Device installed in vehicle

Community service

Completion of an alcohol or drug screening, treatment and education program

Aggravated DUI

Between four months and 15 years in prison, depending on prior convictions

Up to 10 years of supervised probation ARS 13-902

Forever Allegeable Felony Conviction

Maximum fine of $150,000

Driver’s license will be revoked for 1 year

Possible SR22 insurance

Two years of Ignition Interlock Device installed in vehicle

Community service

Completion of an alcohol or drug screening, treatment and education program

Victim Impact Panel (MADD)

Contact Us

Feel free to call us at any time with any questions or inquiries you may have. We offer a free 60 minute consultation to all of our clients. See contact details below.

The Litwak Law Group

Criminal Defense & Civil Litigation Attorney

845-558-1448

1 NORTH 1ST STREET, SUITE 716, 

PHOENIX, AZ 85004